Connect with us

Hot News in World

DA’s ‘shadow’ economic cluster plays a safe but solid game


DA’s ‘shadow’ economic cluster plays a safe but solid game


Tried and tested Democratic Alliance Members of Parliament in the respective portfolios have re-emerged in the final list of the official opposition’s “shadow cabinet” announced on Wednesday.

The shadow cabinet is the name the DA gives to a group of its opposition MPs that lead it in representing the party in respective portfolios and committees. John Steenhuisen stays on as the DA’s chief whip.

David Maynier’s move to the Western Cape provincial Department of Finance and Economic Opportunities paves the way for Geordin Hill-Lewis to emerge as the DA’s “shadow minister” of finance, with Dion George serving as his deputy.

Hill-Lewis is no stranger to the economic cluster of cabinet departments, as he served as the party’s “shadow minister” of trade and industry previously.

Dean Macpherson, a vocal MP in the trade and industry portfolio committee during the previous Parliament was announced as “shadow minister” in that portfolio.

Kevin Mileham moves from “shadow minister” of cooperative governance and traditional affairs in the last term of Parliament to being “shadow minister” of mineral resources and energy.

Cheryl Phillips will serve as Mileham’s deputy. Mileham’s experience in dealing with non-payment of municipalities to Eskom for electricity gives Mileham a slice of insight into South Africa’s broader energy challenges, although Eskom falls within the ambit of Public Enterprises.

Natasha Mazzone will remain as the DA’s “shadow minister” of public enterprises. Much of Mazzone’s previous term went towards holding leaders of beleaguered state-owned entities accountable and the Parliament’s inquiry into Eskom was her star-turn. Erik Marais will serve as her deputy.

Michel Cardo moves from the economic development portfolio to employment and labour. His deputy will be Michael Bagraim. Patricia Kopane will serve as “shadow minister” of public works and infrastructure with Samantha Graham as her deputy.

Zakhele Mbhele will move from the police portfolio to small business development, where Henro Kruger will be his deputy.

Phumzile Van Damme will remain at communication and telecommunications where she pushed for accountability at the South African Broadcasting Corporation. Cameron Mackenzie will be her deputy.

Manny De Freitas will move from the transport portfolio to the tourism portfolio, where his deputy will be Hlanganani Gumbi.

Alf Lees and Bendicta van Minnen will represent the DA on the Standing Committee on Public Accounts (Scopa), while Phillip de Lange and former Knysna mayor Eleanore Bouw-Spies will serve on the Standing Committee on the Auditor-General. Denis Joseph and Ashor Sarupen will represent the DA on the appropriations committee. 


Source link

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


To Top
error: Content is protected !!